Posted by: pamelapotter | May 15, 2009

Life with Cats update

I’m using Neeka as an excuse for being very behind in my blogging!

Neeka is still a joy and a delight, but helping her settle in and be properly socialized has been very time consuming.

Neeka did come home with a cold and she’s still sick. For the first 10 days or so I hoped that with rest and a dramatically improved diet with plenty of coconut oil and raw meat that she’d just kick it. Then I called the vet and we got some antibiotics. She was almost better, but her nose is getting gross again so I called the vet for a better antibiotic. We started that today.

All my girls are now getting along pretty well. Tesh, my senior alpha, will play occasionally and is starting to be willing to share the bed. Isis and Neeka play extensively and I think in another month will actually be fond of each other. It would help if Neeka didn’t sneeze on her so much. But my house does once again resound with the thunder of little elephants at all hours, so things have progressed beautifully for just one month.

Neeka has taken possession of ‘The Tunnel’. Its a cat toy made of rip-stop nylon and wires. The best $20 I ever spent on cat amusement. Isis practically lived in it as a kitten and now its Neeka’s favorite thing. Ever seen a 3 year old child slide belly first into a kiddie pool to make the giant splash? Neeka dives into the  tunnel head first with maximum force to see how far she can slide it in pursuit of the stick. (Which has a feathery cat toy on the other end, but apparently the stick is more fun. No accounting for taste.)

All is almost right with the world of cats.

Now to get my eating habits straightened back out. Less said about that the better.


Leave a comment

Categories